Manchester City Council Report for Information

Report to: Council – 15 May 2019

Subject: Seniority of Councillors 2019/20

Report of: City Solicitor

1. Background

1.1 Following the election held on 2 May 2019 the Order of Seniority of Members of the Council is as follows –

Seniority by Office

The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor
The Deputy Lord Mayor
The Leader of the Council
The Leader of the Opposition

Patrick Karney

Richard Leese

Basil Curley

Eddy Newman

Glynn Evans

Brian O'Neil

Susan Murphy

Susan Cooley

Paul Andrews

Bernard Priest

Joanne Green

Bernard Stone

John Flanagan

Tom Judge

June Hitchen

Abid Chohan

Mary Watson

Naeem Ul-Hassan

Nigel Murphy

Andrew Simcock

John Leech

Rosa Battle

Sameem Ali

Veronica Kirkpatrick

Luthfur Rahman

Suzannah Reeves

Rabnawaz Akbar

Suzanne Richards

Julie Reid

Tracey Rawlins

Aftab Razaq

Matthew Strong

Bev Craig

John Hughes

Carmine Grimshaw

Carl Ollerhead

Shelley Lanchbury

Joan Davies

Nasrin Ali

Ahmed Ali

Luke Raikes

Angeliki Stogia

Shaukat Ali

Joanna Midgley

Afia Kamal

Tina Hewitson

Donna Ludford

Sarah Russell

Azra Ali

Madeleine Monaghan

Sandra Collins

Yasmin Dar

John Hacking

James Wilson

Rebecca Moore

Mandie Shilton Godwin

Emily Rowles

Dzidra Noor

Basat Sheikh

Paula Appleby

Dave Rawson

Garry Bridges

Sarah Judge

Lee-Ann Igbon

John Farrell

Paula Sadler

Andy Harland

Emma Taylor

Mary Monaghan

Mahadi Mahamed

Hannah Priest

Kelly Simcock

Zahra Alijah

Chris Wills

Jill Lovecy

Ali Ilyas

Richard Kilpatrick

Annette Wright

William Jeavons

Sam Lynch

Sean McHale

Majid Dar

Eve Holt

Sam Wheeler

Ben Clay

Adele Douglas

Gavin White

Fias Riasat

Jon-Connor Lyons

Marcus Johns

Tim Whiston**

Shazia Butt**

Greg Stanton**

Jade Mary Coswell**

Amna Saad Omar Abdullatif**

Becky Chambers**

Notes

* Seniority is calculated on total aggregated length of service as a member of the Council, with the exception of the member marked.

** The seniority of these members, without previous service as councillors for Manchester, was determined by a ballot conducted by the Lord Mayor on 8 May 2019.

City Solicitor

8 May 2019